Ryanair’s New Booking Engine – Now What?


The media was loud about Ryanair’s new booking engine to be launched this Monday. I even read it in the news that they managed to migrate and the turned their site back on even before deadline.

I tried to test it yesterday evening, but I ran into errors all the time. Then I gave it up and tried it again this morning.

Ryanair website screenshotI was surprised to find out that nothing has changed. I tried to book a flight between Budapest and Glasgow for 2 persons. First I received a price of HUF 7990 for the outbound flight and the same price for the return flight. Then I selected them and on the next page I found 14 990 for both ways because of the 2 persons. Besides that on both ways they showed me taxes and fees and in the end the total cost was HUF 54 160 (1 Eur = 260 HUF). So nothing is true about showing gross prices. (See screenshot for details)

I am wondering if they failed the upgrade and this is still the old version of their online booking engine or if this is the new engine and the managed to slap the whole worldwide media on the face.

There is only one more thing to mention about the whole story. I tried to find a media contact to them. It is not available on their website or anywhere else. Although I am a kind of a fan of Mr O’Leary, I don’t get this. it is absolutely not professional.

By Szafi
4 Responses to “Ryanair’s New Booking Engine – Now What?”


  1. 1 Paul February 26, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    You are quite right Szafi. Nothing has changed on the Ryanair website. Pricing still DOES NOT include taxes and charges (as of 3.30pm Tues 26/02/08).

    It will be interesting to see how the Office of Fair Trading in the UK handle this from here on in. You are also quite right there is no media contact on the website either so I’d imagine any news organisation is finding it incredibly tough right now to get any sort of information out of them at present. Mind you that seems to me the way they like it. When they have something to say as regarding talking trash about others thats all fair game and they give it to us with both barrels – capitalising massively on their PR opportunity. When customers and enquirers want to make contact with the company this open channel immediately closes up. Double standards ????

    It will be an interesting few days in my opinion.

  2. 2 szafi February 27, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Hi Paul,

    thanks for the feedback. I’m happy you agree.
    The thing this whole situation is that I wrote some articles about this meaningless and absurd expectation of the EU to change the pricing model of the airlines. I think it is crazy and if I were Mr O’Leary or any other big airline’s CEO, I would initiate negotiations with the EU commissioner to change the regulation and make it feasible to adopt.
    Instead they said OK and did nothing. That is why I say it is not professional.

    I also understand that they don’t want to hire people to deal with media inquiries. It is a huge cost and nobody knows the exact financial effect of good media relations. I read and learned many things about him and I understand his logic in such things. They don’t mind bad media, cos every media appearance is good media appearance. I understand that, but still I believe that on the long run bad media leads to bad bad reputation and in the end it keads to loss of credibility or good-will.

    Anyway let’s keep an eye on what’s going to happen.

  3. 3 Paul February 27, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Yes indeed Szafi. I agree and believe that on the long run bad media leads to bad bad reputation. That will in the end lead to loss a of credibility or good-will on the part of the consumer.

    But then maybe PR was actually the whole point of this exercise for Ryanair. Take your website down for a whole weekend to gear up for a much bigger booking enterprise at the back end handling more passengers annually – use this time to fob off the Office of Fair Trading in the UK with the promise that you’ll fix the all inclusive pricing in the process, relaunch the website without actually having made the inclusive pricing change promised and then launch 1 million flights at 1p as a smoke screen to say oh well we didn’t get the all inclusive pricing sorted as we said we’d do this time around but hey look how good we are – we’ve got 1 million flights at 1p so who needs all inclusive pricing anyhow? Our flights are so cheap we don’t need to comply.

    There is some really interesting analysis here:
    http://www.tourcms.com/blog/2008/02/27/travel-technology-isnt-a-spectator-sport-more-on-ryanair-upgrade/
    and
    http://giraffeforum.com/wordpress/2008/02/10/how-i-came-to-love-ryanair/
    and
    http://www.travelmole.com/stories/1126695.php

  4. 4 szafi March 1, 2008 at 9:37 am

    You must be right, Paul. I haven’t thought about it, but in the meantime I read them through and I have to admit your theory works.
    Do you have any news about the UK Fair Trading Office’s reaction?
    I haven’t read anything about it in the news.


Leave a Reply

Blog calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

