Cannot Walk, Fly Instead


The following post is about a music band and their new album. I have 4 reasons to write about them in this blog:

1. I love their music

2. I published an article about them on the portal of the media copany I work for

3. The record company that releases their albums belongs to a friend of mine

4. Both their new album and the song I’ll show you have something to do with flying.

Zagar kicks in

ZagarFirst time I saw the band playing was at the so called Sziget Festival that takes place every year in Budapest attracting a lot of people from other countries and a lot of high quality performers. At that time I was almost sure they were from abroad, but it turned out they were a fresh Hungarian band. Some of their members earlier played in the band of Yonderboi, who had been very popular at that time outside of Hungary as well. I liked their unique electronic-jazzy sound and that little bit psychedelic visual they always project at their concerts. The next day I immediately collected their songs and I listened to them every now and then.

I was on my way to work sitting in the car in the usual morning traffic jam trying to get from Pest (where Ilive) to Buda (where I work) listening to the radio, when I heard the following: “and now the brand new song of Zagar that you can only hear on our radio station. The song is called: Wings of love”. By instinct I increased the volume of the radio and when I heard the first sounds of the violin playing I felt that shiver down my spine that you can only feel when music touches your soul.

About the band

Zagar was formed in 2001, the band received its name after Balazs Zsager, founder of the band, author of all songs, pianist, graduated at the jazz faculty of the Hungarian College of Music. The song Wings of love featuring 6 excellent Hungarian vocalists – all memers or former members of underground music bands – has become a number one hit on this radio station in Hungary.

Balazs Zsager aka Zagar > keys, electronica, vocal, producing
Andor Kovacs > guitar
Tibor Lazar > drums
Dj Bootsie > scratches
Akos Zsager-Varga > bass

The Underground Divas

Sena, Edina Kutzora, Judie Jay, Bori Peterfy, Eniko Hodosi, Juci Nemeth

The song

I really recommend you to listen to this fantastic song and purchase their album if you like it.

Lyrics

ZAGAR – Wings of Love
Lyrics by Zsófia Hutvágner
© 2007

Wings of love at the end
Will give us shelter again
We’re gonna hide under
When our protest is over

With our answers unsaid
We will walk hand in hand
We wont’t talk, we won’t cry
We’ll be just sharing what’s left of us

By Szafi
4 Responses to “Cannot Walk, Fly Instead”


  1. 1 balint01 December 13, 2007 at 5:45 am

    Great song indeed! I have a question, who’s who among the Underground Divas?
    I know the blonde girl is Bori Peterfy (from the band: Amorf Ordogok, and also an actress), the tall, little bit curly logn black hair girl standing next to her is Edina Kutzora (from the band: Yonderboi among others).
    I suppose that the straight hair brunette on the far left is Juci Nemeth (from the band: Anima Sound System), while the girl standing next to her is Eniko Hodosi (from the band: Neo).
    Now the two girls in the middle can only be guessed: Judie Jay maybe the one wearing a hat, while that leaves Sena to be the one with the black hair cover and the big earrings.
    Did I get it right?

  2. 2 szafi December 13, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Yep, exactly 🙂
    And a funny thing happened to me yesterday evening. Around midnight I got home from a company christmas party, when I suddenly met Judy Jay who turned out to live on the other side of the street. Our windows are facing each other. 🙂

  3. 3 video facts December 13, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    Guess what? Your blog is amazing! I can’t remember when was the last time i’ve overcome such a good blog that almost all articles/posts were interesting and wouldn’t regret spending my time reading it. I hope you will keep up the great work you are doing here and i can enjoy my everyday read at your blog.

  4. 4 szafi December 13, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    thx 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives


