Why Was Director Kevin Smith Booted From A Flight?


It’s time to write some words about the discriminative policy of some airlines who decided to charge double price for oversized people as – according to their beliefs – one seat is not enough for them.

At first it sounds like a reasonable idea, but let’s think about it for a second. What does fat mean? Who is fat? Who decides on that question? Will they force me to stand on the scale next to my luggage at the check-in counter? Or will a flight attendant come to me on board when she sees that I hardly fit into a seat and ask me to get off the plane?

Well, I never thought about it, as it never happened to me, but actually it happened to director Kevin Smith (you might know him as Silent Bob from movies like Dogma,  Clerks, Chasing Amy or Jay and Silent Bob strike back) on a Southwest Airlines flight.

Before you make a judgement for yourselves, please think about it: is it really the passengers’ fault if they do not have enough space next to each other?

What happens in a movie or a theater?

You can read the full story from one of my favorite bloggers, Kate Harding, who runs a blog about accepting body image.

By Szafi

4 Responses to “Why Was Director Kevin Smith Booted From A Flight?”


  1. 1 Patrick February 17, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Well once I had was in the window seat beside a very large gentleman. Fortunately the plane was not full and I got a move. I think I’d have gone crazy otherwise.

  2. 2 szafi February 17, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Sorry, I forgot to link to the original article, so I updated the post.
    But isn’t it true that we’re usually quite crowded on economy class?

  3. 3 Jesper February 18, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    I cannot see why gross overweights should be allowed to take up space from other passengers seats, of course they should pay more, otherwise people with a normal human BMI should pay more for their airfare – a flight can only handle so much gross weight = an amount of people.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Body_mass_index – should give a good idea on when you´ve had enough donuts.

  4. 4 restaurants Covent Garden April 28, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Once I had a seat beside a very large gentleman. I was even unable move. It was quite weird.


Leave a Reply

Blog calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Archives


